My son has just finished his first half-term at secondary school (year 7). I have just received an email saying that the school has set him in a maths class based on current and previous results, and that he will be covering level 5-8 topics.

It does not mention whether he's in a top, middle or bottom set and I have no frame of reference for the levels he is studying. Where does level 5-8 stand in the grand scheme of things?


1 Answer 1


Although the numbers don't correspond exactly to lettered grades, a 5 is an old C (or C+), an 8 is an A or A+. There's no way to tell if he's in a top set, as there might be a set doing level 7 to 9, or there might not be.

  • $\begingroup$ Thanks. So that’s C’s and A’s at GCSE? Bearing in mind he’s only year 7. $\endgroup$
    – Darren
    Oct 28, 2018 at 17:24
  • $\begingroup$ That's projected for year 11. So they expect people in that class to get C-A in year 11. $\endgroup$
    – Paul Dean
    Oct 30, 2018 at 7:56

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.